Lizogubs’ estate (Lisohub’ estate) in Sednev built in the 17th century and visited by Shevchenko and Glibov, was surrounded by incredibly beautiful park which excited admiration and made contemporaries jealous. It is no surprise as the European park with the chestnut trees paths, white bridges over ditches and the fountain cascades was built in Lizogubs’ estate in the territory of 22 hectares. The jet of one fountain – Hetman – was higher than the jet of famous Samson in Peterhof! Though the park in Lizogubs’ estate in its existing condition yields to Sophia Park in Uman, it attracts the attention by its beauty and romanticism.
It should be noted that the park in Lizogubs’ estate was built at the place of the old natural oak forest. A lot of trees of that oak forest have still remained and even today you can see so called Shevchenko lime tree there. This unique lime tree is a long-liver, it is more than 600 years old (unfortunately it fell down a few years ago, however, its roots and bottom part of the trunk is still alive and covered with the new sprouts). According to the legend exactly under this lime tree Taras Shevchenko, who was a guest in Lizogubs’ estate wrote his poem Witch. Lev Zhemchuzhnikov, the famous Russian and Ukrainian artist told that the estate owner – Ilya Lizogub, a fan of parks – could not help and bought the estate from his neighbor Cossack for the sake of this magnificent lime tree. There is a painting of Lario presenting the Sednev lime tree. Sednev oak (Bogdan oak) also still grows there. It is a magnificent tree which is more than 400 years old and it grows in the park of Lizogubs’ estate. According to the local legend Bogdan Khmelnitsky – Ukrainian Hetman – conducted his meetings while staying at Sednev. In 1830 brothers Ilya and Andrey – descendants of Lizogubs family – settled in Sednev. They carried out the large-scale works to restore the estate. The old park acquired new romantic features according to the fashion trends of that time. They built the mysterious grotto, white bridge over the ditch, and mossy stone ruins. A romantic pavilion-rotunda in classical style with white Doric columns was a special decoration in Sednev Park. It was built at the mountain terrace and which had a wonderful view on the meadows and forests. The Lizogubs built Kamyanytsya (stone building) in Lizogubs’ estate, in the park territory near the church. After the reconstruction in the 19th century it looks like a small medieval castle with the tower. Lizogubs’ Kamyanytsya is a two-storied building. Its first floor is hidden under the ground. Local inhabitants like to tell about the mysterious underground conduits which lead from Kamyanytsya to the pond or to Chernigov (the version which is very popular among the children of Sednev).
Lizogubs, which were the cultured people, started to build Sednev. In 1690 a church of Nativity of the Blessed Virgin (today there is a plate at the entrance telling that it is Voskresenskaya Church) was built on the money of Colonel Yakov Lizogub in Sednev, not far from Lizogubs’ estate. Massive baroque church (early Ukrainian Baroque) served as a family vault of Lizogubs, who were buried in the undercroft. Later in the 19th century a double-level bell tower was built in front of the western church façade.
Sednev is also famous with its Sednev St. George's Church which is a rare example of the monumental wooden structures in the left-bank Ukraine of Baroque period. Triple St. George's Church has a central octagonal tower and is richly decorated with the carving. This temple is considered to be one of the best creatures of the folk architecture in Ukraine. The famous Soviet horror film “Viy” was shot there with Natalia Varley and Leonid Kuravlev.
Picturesque landscape and hospitality of Lizogubs attracted attention of the creative bohemia. In 1869 Leonid Glibov wrote his “Zhurba” (Sorrow) in Lizogubs’ estate, praising the beauty of Sednev views.
It is no surprise that the pavilion in Lizogubs park in Sednev is now called Glibov’s arbour (Glibov’s pavilion).
The famous Ukrainian poet Taras Shevchenko visited Lizogubs’ estate twice. Staying in Sednev he wrote his poem Aspen (Witch), paintings In Sednev, Near Sednev, Chumaks among burial mounds.
Artists, writers and poets consider Sednev locality to be one of the most picturesque. Lev Zhemchuzhnikov, the famous Russian and Ukrainian artist came here and created a series of paintings in Lizogubs’ estate. Alexander Afanasiev-Chuzhbinsky, writer, ethnographer and historian also visited this place. Boris Grinchenko (Kiev Pedagogical University is named after him), Ukrainian writer and ethnographer, wrote down the Ukrainian folk songs in Sednev. Opanas Slastion, famous Ukrainian artist and ethnographer worked there in the 90-s of the 19th century.
The tourists visiting Sednev are able to walk around the beautiful park, see Lizogubs’ estate, St. George's Church and other churches of Sednev; they can enjoy the wonderful view from the Glibov’s pavilion seeing the valley and Snov River.
Read about the village of Sednev, its history, interesting facts.
|← Sednev||Radomyshl →|
Company: Ukraine for Business (UB)
Address: Kyiv, Ukraine
Phone: +38 050 609 27 99
Phone: +38 097 361 30 19
Ukraine for Business (UB) provide the services to the foreigners in the sphere of business and educational tourism, traveling, organization of conferences, translation and interpretation.